Farewell, Sweden. Jag älskar dig.

​I’m sitting at the bar of my hotel, drinking a vodka & orange juice, reminiscing about the most incredible month I’ve had here in Sweden. Leaving is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. I have made so many memories, and have met so many wonderful people, I am the happiest (and saddest) girl alive. A very good friend of mine told me the other day “don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened”. My heart is torn between smiling, and crying, and it is the strangest feeling in the world.

The past month has been filled with laughter, smiles, (some) tears, and love. Love for the country. Love for my new friends. Love for myself. Sweden has taught me that it’s okay to be alone – that I am okay. Sweden has taught me how to laugh until my tummy hurts and love until my heart is full. I never thought I could love such a diverse group of people as fiercely as I do. Leaving is going to tear me apart, but I have learned that I can put myself back together.

From exploring Linköping (and occasionally getting lost), to taking the train to Norrköping and going on day trips to Vadstena, Söderköping, Omberg and Motala, I have seen a lot. I have been to the flygvapenmuseum, Gamla Linköping; I have eaten more ice cream than my body allows, and I have played more Kubb than I could have ever thought possible. I have eaten (and kept down) fermented herring, I tried authentic Swedish pancakes, and I learned that Canadian Maple Syrup in a different country is awful and tastes like cough syrup. I have made puns, FINALLY watched the Lion King, and mastered the art of IKEA and Swedish meatballs.

I have taken a Drug Addictions course in which we (almost) mastered the neuroscience behind the disease. I have learned alot this past month. But the one most important lesson I learned was this:
I have made friends from all 4 corners of the earth — some I am leaving behind in Sweden, others who live in France and the USA and South America. No matter where you are, I am confident we will meet up again soon. 
This concludes the Sweden portion of my adventures. Next up is Paris, France.

See you on the flip side, mes amis 
xoxo 

Leave a Reply

