Sweden, here I am!

The past 48 hours have definitely been interesting. In 48 hours I have gotten no more than 3 hours of sleep. The adjustment to the time zone difference (6 hours ahead of Canada) has been tough, and I have been in overdrive since I first landed in Copenhagen. The adrenaline has not settled, and it is 2:30am my time and I should really be sleeping but I promised myself I’d write this post today.

First things first. Sweden. Is. Beautiful. The architecture I saw in Stockholm was unlike anything I’ve seen before. All of the buildings are of equal height, which of course satisfies the little perfectionist in me. And they are all painted different, unique colors. One thing I’ve noticed is that everyone pretty much walks everywhere, or has a bicycle. Cars (especially in Linkoping) are limited, which is really neat to see, and of course keeps the fresh air feeling exactly that – fresh.

20160630_161627

Do you understand my satisfaction?

20160701_135131

Stockholm, Sweden

In Stockholm, my friend and I decided to take a walk and find a bar that we could have a drink at. We found one – and neither the bartender or the waitress spoke English, which is uncommon in Sweden. Needless to say, my friend and I learned the Svenska word for beer (öl, pronouced “oh-le”) really quickly. I’m starting to notice that the people here are quick to help if needed, too. If you don’t know how to pronounce a word, they will phonetically sound it out for you the best they can (not going to lie, I learned öl, and it took me a while).

Today, I finally arrived at the university. The arrival and settling in at Linkoping was a little rough – again, just adjustment. For starters, being so sleep deprived, my emotions have been ALL over the place, which of course resulted in me crying for a solid 5 minutes before I pulled myself together and put that well known smile back on my face. Whoever said there’s nothing that good company and hot water can’t fix really knew what they were talking about.

20160630_185653

My happy, tourist-y self

There’s so much that I could say about this country, and the cities I’ve been in thus far. It’s different here than in Canada. A good difference. A GREAT different. I am already in love with this place. I can only imagine how much that love will grow within the next 4 weeks, and how hard it’s going to be to leave.

With love from Sweden,

Jess

 

One thought on “Sweden, here I am!

  1. Marisa Gettas says:

    It’s always tough settling into a new environment. Travel + jet lag + language barriers + a little homesickness = crying. But you seem to be doing great for your first days…I agree that it’s only going to get better with time xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

